Texas Tech Announces Hall of Fame/Hall of Honor Inductees


On Friday, Texas Tech athletics announced five former student-athletes to be inducted into the Texas Tech Hall of Fame, plus the announcement of former Texas Tech athletic trainer and athletic administrator, Ken Murray’s induction into the distinguished Hall of Honor.

Five former student athletes will be inducted into the Hall of Fame, including three football players: Lin Elliott (1989-91), Tate Randle (1978-81), and Vic Spooner (1952-53). Additionally, former Texas Tech baseball player, shortstop Ronnie Mattson (1973-76), and Track and Field star Delray Poyser (1982-85) were announced to round out the 2015 Hall of Fame class.

Ken Murray is the 42nd member to be inducted into the Hall of Honor, which according to the Texas Tech athletics press release, is given to “individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the success of Texas Tech Athletics while displaying qualities of sportsmanship, character and integrity.”

The Hall of Fame and Hall of Honor ceremonies will be held on Friday, October 30 at 6:30 p.m. at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center. This event is open to the public, and there are three different options to attend the event: $500 for a table, $50 per person, and $30 for Double T Varsity Club members. The following day, Texas Tech hosts the Oklahoma State Cowboys, where all six inductees will be honored on the football field.

More from Texas Tech Red Raiders News

Provided By Texas Tech Athletics:

2015 Texas Tech Hall of Fame Inductees

Lin Elliott (Football, 1988-91) – Place Kicker
Elliott was one of the top place kickers in Texas Tech history during his career as a Red Raider from 1988-91. An All-Southwest Conference selection in 1991, Elliott matched the Texas Tech single-season record with 17 field goals in 1991, a record that remained in place until 2013. Elliott remains one of the Texas Tech all-time greats to this day after recording 40 field goals and 100 extra points during his career. He went on be an instrumental part of a Dallas Cowboys team that won Super Bowl XXVII.

Ronnie Mattson (Baseball, 1973-76) – Shortstop
Mattson was just the fifth Red Raider in program history to be named an All-American in 1976 when the shortstop earned second-team honors by the American Baseball Coaches Association. A two-time All-Southwest Conference selection (1975-76), Mattson finished second in the SWC batting race in 1976 after hitting .389 overall with 46 RBI. He ended his Texas Tech career as the school’s all-time leader in at-bats, runs scored, hits, total bases, doubles and triples.

Delroy Poyser (Track & Field, 1982-85) – Jumps/Relays
Poyser was among the first great Texas Tech track and field athletes as he was a three-time All-American and an Academic All-American during his Red Raider career from 1982-85. Poyser’s career was highlighted by a pair of third-place finishes in the triple jump (1983) and long jump (1984) at the NCAA Indoor Championships. Poyser left Texas Tech as the school’s indoor and outdoor record holder in the triple jump, marks that remained in place for roughly 25 years. He also won a gold medal in the long jump at the 1982 Central America and Caribbean Games, representing his native Jamaica, and a silver medal at the 1980 Under-20 Central America and Caribbean Games.

Tate Randle (Football, 1978-81) – Safety
Randle was a two-time All-Southwest Conference first team selection at safety during his Red Raider career from 1978-81. Known as one of the top defensive backs in school history, Randle wrapped his Red Raider career among the all-time leaders in interceptions as his six picks from 1979 rank tied for seventh in the school record book while his 14 career interceptions are tied for third overall. Randle was selected in the 8th round of the 1982 NFL Draft by the Houston Oilers. He remained in the league for seven seasons as a member of the Oilers as well as the Baltimore Colts and Miami Dolphins. He later went on to play four seasons in the Arena Football League where he was a three-time all-league performer. His success led to an induction into the AFL Hall of Fame.

Vic Spooner (Football, 1952-53) – End
Spooner was an All-Border Conference end for the 1953 Red Raiders that finished 11-1 overall after defeating 17th-ranked Auburn in the Gator Bowl. Spooner was a co-captain as a senior in 1953 as he helped lead the Red Raiders to their most wins in program history. Texas Tech has reached the 11-win mark just twice since that year. Spooner later participated in the Blue-Gray Game following his senior season. In addition to his work on the gridiron, Spooner also lettered in baseball for the Red Raiders in 1954 which was the first baseball team formed by Texas Tech since 1929.

2015 Texas Tech Hall of Honor Inductee

Ken Murray – Head Athletic Trainer/Sr. Associate AD for Sports Medicine
Murray spent roughly 24 years serving Texas Tech as either its head athletic trainer or as an athletics administrator before retiring in 2011. A fixture in the athletic training profession for over 40 years, Murray began his career as Texas Tech’s head athletic trainer in 1978, a role he would continue for 17 years where he served under four different head coaches – Rex Dockery, Jerry Moore, David McWilliams and fellow Hall of Honor inductee, Spike Dykes. He later departed to become director of sports medicine at Covenant Hospital before returning in 2004 as the Senior Associate Athletics Director for sports medicine. In addition to his time at Texas Tech, Murray also served as an assistant athletic trainer for the Atlanta Falcons as well as the head athletic trainer for both Eastern Kentucky and Southwest Louisiana.